2013: 50 Books January Update

6 Feb

So, with my winterim class & school restarting overlapping, I didn’t think I would have much time to read this month.  I forgot that I tend to read more when I’m busier, just because I feel less guilty reading than watching a movie or a tv programme in my free time.  If I want to read 50 books in a year, that averages out to 4.16 books a month.  Maybe I’ll get to more than 50! No promises.

Here’s what I read this month & my final impressions.

Lists

1. The Virgin Suicides: Jeffery Eugenides  I have a thing where I won’t see a movie unless I’ve read the book first, if it’s a book I want to read or is on a list.  Now I can watch the movie! I’ve also read Middlesex by him & enjoyed that.

2. Bossypants: Tina Fey I like Tina Fey, but I didn’t really like this book.  By the end it was just a, “Look at how quirky and awkward I am”.  I think I would have liked better in small doses- one essay at a time- rather than reading it in one sitting like I did.  Her schtick got tired quickly.  I did like reading about her life though, especially about her friendship with Amy Poehler.

3. Snuff: Chuck Palahniuk Weird. Weird. Weird. Made me want a Silkwood shower.

4. Perfume: The Story of A Murderer: Patrick Suskind  This book was so so so good! This is the kind of novel that I love.  The descriptions of the nuances of scent were so vivid.  I highly recommend!

5. Bridget Jones: The Edge of Reason: Helen Fielding  This is exactly the kind of chick lit book that I had complained about in my first post, but it was on a few “best books” lists (public choice ones) that I’d have to read it eventually.  It was a pretty mindless book that I read in a couple of boring lectures (Fundamentals of Microbiology…don’t judge!).

Total: 5/50.

I think I’ve kicked this challenge off to a good start.  Most of these books were pretty short easy reads though. I want to try and alternate longer more serious books in between shorter novels

Leave a Reply

Perpetual Project

One challenge after another

Material detox

My journey to live a minimalist lifestyle

